astrology houses

Astrology Basics: 12 Houses + Mood Boards

This post may contain affiliate links. This means I get a small commission for purchases made through links in this post at no additional cost for you.

This is the third and last part of the Basics of Astrology series.

In this part, we cover the houses in Astrology. Houses are the home of the 12 zodiac signs and each of the houses is ruled by a planet.

The different houses represent all the areas that life is made of. They show us where we experience the energies of the different signs we have in our chart (sun sign, moon sign, Venus sign,…).

Again I created mood boards for each house to visualize the characteristics. 

Here you can check out the first part, where we cover the 12 zodiac signs and their characteristics. The second part is about the ruling planets in Astrology. 

You can calculate your birth chart here.

1st House: The House Of The Self

Home of: Aries

Ruling planet: Mars

Associations: identity, image, ego, appearance, first impression, physical body, attitude

The first house is called your Ascendant or Rising Sign. It’s about how you present yourself outwardly to the world.

astrology houses


2nd House: Money And Possessions

Home of: Taurus

Ruling planet: Venus

Associations: finances, senses, pleasing things, beauty, self-worth, art, values, priorities, possessions, material desires

astrology houses


3rd House: Communication

Home of: Gemini

Ruling planet: Mercury

Associations: siblings, communication, transportation, neighbors, short travel, school, writing, learning, interests, reading, knowledge, technology

3rd house


4th House: Sense Of Home

Home of: Cancer

Ruling planet: Moon

Associations: family, roots, home, security, mother, femininity, emotions, upbringing, subconscious, ancestors, origin

The 4th is also called the Imum Coeli (I.C.). It’s the lowest point in our chart and refers to past life karma you brought into this life. 

astrology houses


5th House: Joy And Creativity

Home of: Leo

Ruling planet: Sun

Associations: fun, children, joy, play, romance, flings, casual relationships, dating, creativity, entertainment, self-expression, hobbies, pleasure

5th house


6th House: Daily Tasks

Home of: Virgo

Ruling planet: Mercury

Associations: daily routine, health, hygiene,  service, self-improvement, daily work, duties, organization, pets

6th house


7th House: Relationships

Home of: Libra

Ruling planet: Venus

Associations: marriage, contracts, divorce, harmony, business partnerships, long-term relationships

astrology houses


8th House: Death And Regeneration

Home of: Scorpio

Ruling planet: Pluto

Associations: death, loss, transformation, healing, rebirth, intimacy, sexuality, regeneration, sharing resources, other people’s money, inheritances



9th House: Deeper Understanding

Home of: Sagittarius

Ruling planet: Jupiter

Associations: travel, higher education, philosophy, spirituality, beliefs, wisdom, books, deep thoughts, search for meaning


10th House: Career

Home of: Capricorn

Ruling planet: Saturn

Associations: career, reputation, achievements, legacy, status, success, business, authority figures, giving back to society, influence

The 10th house is also called the Midheaven or Medium Coeli. It’s mainly associated with the career you go after, your reputation, and your status.

10th house

11th House: Community

Home of: Aquarius

Ruling planet: Uranus

Associations: friendships, large groups, aspirations, wishes, charity, communities


12th House: The Hidden Self

Home of: Pisces

Ruling planet: Neptune

Associations: solitude, dreams, secrets, subconsciousness, limiting beliefs, secret relationships, fantasies


Stay In Contact


Pin it for later

You cannot copy content of this page

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial